Menu

Special Education

In addition to Learning Resource classrooms for Cary-Grove students ages 14 - 18, Cary-Grove High School also houses the Functional Communication Skills (FCS) program for students across the district.

Students enrolled in the Learning Resource curriculum are provided:

  • Direct instruction classes, such as math and reading
  • Additional supports through guided studies, such as ACCESS
  • Related services
  • Social emotional support

The Functional Communication Skills program services students with multiple disabilities and focuses on strengthening students communication skills to ensure they are successful in communicating their wants and needs when they graduate from high school.

FCS offers a holistic approach to education for students to grow academically and learn skills to live independently. Students build their reading and writing skills, independent communication skills, as well as, practice personal hygiene, feeding skills, cooking and living in an apartment setting.

The program also offers a full bench of related services based on student needs. This may include, but is not limited to the following:

  • Speech & language pathology
  • Occupational & physical therapy
  • Vision & hearing therapy
  • Orientation & mobility
  • Social emotional support

Students have the opportunity to participate in PE with their gym buddies and learn a variety of in-school jobs which prepares them for employment in the future. Community based trips are incorporated in student learning at various times each semester.

Contact Us

Dona Taylor
Division Leader
Email: dtaylor@d155.org

Laura Whalen
Special Education Secretary
Email: lwhalen@d155.org

Michael Arrigoni
Teacher
Email: marrigoni@d155.org
 

Molly Bo-Hansen
Teacher
Email: mbohansen@d155.org

Amy Clemment
Teacher
Email: aclemment@d155.org

Michael Mayers
Teacher
Email: mmayers@d155.org

Adam McCloud
Teacher
Email: amccloud@d155.org

Laura Mokry
Teacher
Email: lmokry@d155.org

Jeremy Palese
Teacher
Email: jpalese@d155.org

Rory Petersen
Teacher
Email: rpetersen@d155.org

William Petersen
Teacher
Email: wpetersen@d155.org

Emily Schnake
Teacher
Email: eschnake@d155.org